Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Happy 10th Anniversary, Mercy Watson!

That's right!  The porcine star of Kate DiCamillo's wonderful chapter book series for young readers, Mercy Watson, is celebrating her 10th Anniversary.  So, make yourself some nice hot buttered toast and join the celebration.

First published in 2005, there are 6 fun-filled books in the Mercy Watson series, all of which are illustrated by Chris Van Dusen, and aimed at readers age 5 to 8 who are transitioning from picture books to early chapter books.

And even though the last Mercy Watson book was published in 2009, young readers will be happy to know that they don't have to say goodbye to Deckawoo Drive.  Author Kate DiCamillo and illustrator Chris Van Dusen have teamed up once again and are revisiting Mercy's neighborhood for a new series, Tales from Deckawoo Drive.  This series is for older readers, age 6 to 9.  The chapters are longer and there are fewer illustrations, but the heart-warming fun continues.  The first volume came out in 2014 and is called Leroy Ninker Saddles Up (watch this space for an upcoming review) and this year the second volume was added,  Francine Poulet Meets the Ghost Raccoon, which was really a lot of fun to read and review.

But wait, there' s more!

You can hear Kate DiCamillo in a live one hour video conference and Q&A celebrating Mercy Watson's 10th anniversary.  This event will be hosted by Pittsburgh Arts & Letters as part of their "Stories Connect Us" community reads program.  And it's FREE to classrooms and the general public.

Date: Thursday, October 15, 2015
Time: 1:00 EST
Technology - PC or Mac with an internet connection

Educators can register their classes HERE

And Parents, you can now join the Mercy Watson Hot Buttered Toast fan club to get updates, news flashes and downloadable fun for your young readers.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Imagination Designs